26 C
Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Nagaland, Meghalaya Elections 2023: Voting In Nagaland, Meghalaya Assembly Elections Today

Must Read

Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 is a Vernacular based Assamese news portal based in Guwahati Assam. We are a dedicated news channel covering news and stories across the globe with special reference to Assam, north-east along with National and International news.

Nagaland, Meghalaya Elections 2023: Assembly elections are being held today in Meghalaya and Nagaland under tight security. In Meghalaya, the BJP is going it alone after a squabble with Conrad Sangma’s NPP, hoping to increase its vote total.
Meghalaya will also see a multi-party election, with Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress competing alongside the Congress, BJP, and NPP (National People’s Party).

Also Read: Meghalaya Assembly Election 2023: Key issues, candidates and constituencies

Triangular elections are scheduled in 59 of Nagaland’s 60 assembly constituencies. The BJP, which won 12 of the state’s 60 seats in 2018, will run in coalition with the NDPP (Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party). The NDPP will contest 40 seats, while the BJP will contest 20 under the seat-sharing agreement.


More than 1,300,000 voters in Nagaland are eligible to vote to determine the electoral fate of 183 candidates running for 59 of 60 assembly seats. Polling will take place at 2,291 polling stations, 196 of which will be managed by women poll workers and 10 by people with disabilities.

Polling will take place in 59 of the 60 assembly seats in Meghalaya as well. Due to the death of one of the candidates, voting in the Sohiong constituency has been postponed.

Also Read: India’s 1st Solar Mission ‘Aditya L-1’ Launching By December

There are over 2,160,000 people who are eligible to vote. There are 3,419 polling booths in total. There are 640 “vulnerable” polling booths and 323 “critical” polling booths. There are 369 candidates in total, with 36 of them being women.

Meghalaya is set to decide its political fate in the Assembly elections tomorrow, on February 26. There will be 3,419 polling stations across the state’s 59 Assembly constituencies. The polls will open at 7 a.m. and close at 4 p.m.

The election for the Sohiong Assembly constituency has been postponed due to the death of the state’s former Home Minister and UDP candidate for the seat, HDR Lyngdoh. On February 20, he died of a cardiac arrest.

Also Read: Meghalaya Election 2023: Election Official Dies In Road Accident In Meghalaya

Meghalaya has 60 Assembly constituencies, 36 of which are in the Khasi, Jaintia Hills region, and 24 in the Garo Hills region.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Bhupen Borah heads to Jorhat, to face police Inquiry amid Political turmoil

Police in Jorhat have summoned Assam Congress chairman Bhupen Borah to appear before them on January 31 in relation to a case involving the Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra, which is suspected of deviating from its approved route in the district.
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -