28 C
Sunday, April 21, 2024

Meghalaya: Conrad Sangma takes oath as Meghalaya CM; Prestone Tynsong, Sniawbhalang Dhar as deputy

Must Read

Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 is a Vernacular based Assamese news portal based in Guwahati Assam. We are a dedicated news channel covering news and stories across the globe with special reference to Assam, north-east along with National and International news.

Meghalaya Election 2023: Conrad Sangma, the leader of the National People’s Party, took the oath of office as Meghalaya’s chief minister for the second time on Tuesday in Shillong, in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Meghalaya governor Phagu Chauhan administered the oath to the 12-member council of ministers, which included Prestone Tynsong of the NPP and Alexander Laloo Hek of the BJP. As deputy chief ministers, Tynsong and Sniawbhalang Dhar took the oath of office.


At Raj Bhavan, eight MLAs from the National People’s Party (NPP), two from the UDP, and one each from the BJP and the HSPDP were sworn in as ministers in Sangma’s cabinet.

Among those in attendance were Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP President JP Nadda, and Assam Chief Minister and NEDA convenor Himanta Biswa Sarma.

Also Read: International Women’s Day 2023: 5 Common Diseases That Affect​ Women More Than Men

Marcuise N Marak, Rakkam A Sangma, Ampareen Lyngdoh, Comingone Ymbon, and A T Mondal were among the NPP cabinet ministers sworn in. AL Hek of the BJP, Paul Lyngdoh and Kyrmen Shylla of the UDP, and Shakliar Warjri of the HSPDP were also sworn in as ministers.

Earlier in the day, Sangma met with all cabinet ministers for a prayer meeting before departing for Raj Bhavan for the swearing-in ceremony.

With the support of 45 MLAs, including two from the BJP, the NPP-led alliance has staked a claim to form the state government.

Sangma defeated Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Bernard N Marak in the South Tura constituency by a margin of 5,016 votes.

The United Democratic Party (UDP) won 11 seats in the assembly elections held on Thursday. Five seats in Congress were won. Trinamool Congress received five seats as well, despite having inducted all Congress MLAs in the previous assembly.


- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Bhupen Borah heads to Jorhat, to face police Inquiry amid Political turmoil

Police in Jorhat have summoned Assam Congress chairman Bhupen Borah to appear before them on January 31 in relation to a case involving the Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra, which is suspected of deviating from its approved route in the district.
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -