28 C
Sunday, April 21, 2024

Ranji Trophy Final: Saurashtra beat Bengal in the final by 9 wickets

Must Read

Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 is a Vernacular based Assamese news portal based in Guwahati Assam. We are a dedicated news channel covering news and stories across the globe with special reference to Assam, north-east along with National and International news.

Bengal vs Saurashtra Match Updates, Ranji Trophy Final Highlights: Bengal failed to win the Ranji Trophy yet again. They last won it in 1998-90, defeating a star-studded Delhi team at Eden Gardens. Their first title came in the pre-independence era of 1938-39.

Saurashtra won their second Ranji Trophy title on Sunday at Kolkata’s Eden Gardens. Earlier, the old Bengal warhorse duo of skipper Manoj Tiwary (68) and Anustup Majumdar (61) batted valiantly, but the home side was let down by their top-order batters, including the promising Abhimanyu Easwaran, who scored 0 and 16 in the two innings.


Unadkat raises the trophy, inviting Vasavada to do the same. When Unadkat was away, Vasavada filled in as captain. The Ranji Trophy is placed in front of the entire team before they lift it all and celebrate loudly. That concludes our coverage of the 2022-23 domestic season, which featured one full round of Ranji matches for the first time since 2019-20.

Also Read: BYJU’S Guwahati Premier League 2023: 6 Teams ,10 Lakh Prize Money, All You Need to Know

Bengal reached 169/4 at stumps against Saurashtra in the ongoing Ranji Trophy final at Eden Gardens in Kolkata, thanks to half-centuries from captain Manoj Tiwary and Anustup Majumdar. With two full days of cricket remaining, Bengal is still 61 runs behind Saurashtra (404). In the final session, Majumdar was dismissed on 61, while Tiwary was unbeaten on 57. Mukesh Kumar took four wickets and Akash Deep added three as Saurashtra was bowled out for 404. They had a 230-run lead.

Earlier. Saurashtra leads Bengal by 143 runs heading into Day 3 of the Ranji Trophy Final at Eden Gardens in Kolkata. Arpit Vasavada and Sheldon Jackson ensured that Saurashtra maintained a firm grip on Bengal, ending the day at 317/5 and dampening Bengal’s chances of staging a comeback. Harvik Desai scored a half-century, while Chirag Jani was unbeaten on 57 at the end of Day 2. Mukesh Kumar and Ishan Porel were the only Bengal bowlers to reach the wickets column, each taking two wickets.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Bhupen Borah heads to Jorhat, to face police Inquiry amid Political turmoil

Police in Jorhat have summoned Assam Congress chairman Bhupen Borah to appear before them on January 31 in relation to a case involving the Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra, which is suspected of deviating from its approved route in the district.
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -