29 C
Saturday, March 2, 2024

Assam Film Award: Rima Das’ ‘Bulbul Can Sing’ and Jonaki Porua Wins Best Film

Must Read

Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 is a Vernacular based Assamese news portal based in Guwahati Assam. We are a dedicated news channel covering news and stories across the globe with special reference to Assam, north-east along with National and International news.

Assam Film Awards 2018 and 2019 ( অসম ৰাজ্যিক চলচ্চিত্ৰ বঁটা): On March 10, the state film awards ceremony was announced which will be held at Srimanta Sankardev Kalakshetra as Assam Film Awards for 2018 and 2019 will be presented.
On Saturday, an important meeting was held at Janata Bhawan under the chairmanship of Culture Minister Bimal Borah. The meeting took place at Janata Bhawan as part of the state film awards ceremony.


On March 10, the day of the release of Jyotiprasad Agarwala’s ‘Joymati’ by the first Assamese film Rupkonwa, the state film awards ceremony was held at Srimanta Sankardev Kalakshetra.


The award ceremony will be held in Assam Cultural Affairs in collaboration with the Assam State Film (Finance and Development) at Srimanta Sankardev Kalakshetra on the 13th of March 2023.

The list of awards will include

Rupkonwar Jyoti Prasad Agarwala Award for Best Feature Film

Dr. Bhupen Hazarika Award for Film on National Integration
Brojen Barua Award for Best Direction
Abdul Majid Award for Best Debut Director
Dr. Bhabendra Nath Saikia Award for Best Screenplay

Most importantly, Jyotiprasad Agarwala’s (ৰূপকোঁৱৰ জ্যোতিপ্ৰসাদ আগৰৱালা) ‘Joymoti‘ (জয়মতী), the first Assamese feature film, was released on March 10, 1935, and was based on the life of Joymoti Konwari, a celebrated princess and the wife of Tai-Ahom Prince – Gadapani, who underwent extreme afflictions but never revealed the location of her exiled husband.

Also Read: 88 Years of Assamese Cinema: ‘Joymoti’ First Assamese feature film Released on This Day

Jyotiprasad Agarwala, a playwright and poet, laid the groundwork for Assamese by writing, directing, producing, and composing the music for Joymoti on March 10, 1935. Agarwala’s film, an adaptation of Lakshmikanth Bezbaruah’s play Joymati Kunwari, follows the trials and tribulations of a seventeenth-century princess who is harassed and killed for refusing to betray her husband.

Assam Film Awards of the year 2018 and 2019: List of Winners

For 2018 Year:


SL NO Name of Awards Recipients
1 Rupkonwar Jyoti Prasad Agarwala Award for Best Film Jonaki Porua-Fireflies (Milin Dutta)
2 Dr.Bhupen Hazarika Award for Film on National Integration
3 Brojen Barua Award for Best Direction Bhaskar Hazarika (Aamis)
4 Abdul Majid Award for the Best Debut Director Anupam Kousihk Borah (Bornodi Bhotiaai)
5 Dr. Bhabendra Nath Saikia Award Best Screenplay Bhaskar Hazarika (Aamis)
6 Nalin Dowerah Award for Best Cinematography Pradim Daimary (Ratnakar)
7 Bhaben Das Award for Best Editing Pratim Khaound (Ratnakar)
8 Parbati Prasad Barua Award for Best Music Direction 1. Tarali Sarma (Jonaki Poruwa) 2. Quan Bay (Aamis)
9 Natasurjya Phani Sarma Award for Best Actor Benjamin Daimari (Jonaki Poruaa)
10 Aideo Handique Award for Best Actress Lima Das (Aamis)
11 Biju Phukan Award for the Best Debut Actor (Male) Jitumoni Kalita (Pakhilar Pakhi)
12 Bidyut Chakrabarty Award for the Best Debut Actor (Female) Dorothy Bharadwaj (Bornodi Bhotiaai)
13 Munin Barua Award for Best Film Critic
14 Bijoy Sankar Award for the Best Popular Film Ratnakar (jatin Bora and Navanita Sharma Bora)
15 Indra Bania Award for the Best Animation Film
16 Tassuduk Yusuf Award for Best performance in Negative role Padmarag Goswami (Pratighaat and xubala)
17 Moazin Ali Award for Best performance in Comic role
18 Rudra Barua Award for Best Playback Singer (Male) Zubeen Garg (Kanchanjangha) Panchana
19 Pratima Pandey Barua Award for Best Playback Singer (Female) Ananya Dutta (Pratighat) Jibon Khupi Khupi
20 Dr. Nirmalprova Bordoloi Award for Best Lyriest Rajdeep (Pratighat) Jiban Khupi Khupi
21 Kalaguru Bishnu Rabha Award for Special Jury Award 1. Chandra Mudoi for socially relevant content (Ronuwa) 2. Rajni Basumatary for outstanding performance (Jwlwi)
22 Pramathesh Barua Award for Life Time Achievement =====
23 Gajen Barua Award for best Choreography Deepak Dey (Ratnakar) Rati rati
24 Pijush Kanti Roy Award for Best Audiography Aamis 1. Gautam Nayar (Sound designer) 2. Debajit Gayan (Recordist) 3. Rukmajit Baruah(Recordist) 4. Ajay KV PB (Rerecordist)
25 Jugal Das Award for Best Art Direction Ratnakar 1. Jyoti Shankar Bhattacharya 2. Navanita Sharma Bora
26 Banshi Das Award for Best Make- up Biswajit Kalita (Ratnakar)
27 Pradip Chaliha Award for Best Costume Design Prakash Deka (Jonaki Poruua)
28 Girish Choudhury Award for Best Supporting Actor Amit Kumar Bora (Porichoy)
29 Iva Achao Award for Best Supporting Actress Pratibha Chodhury (Pokhilar pakhi)
30 Phunu Barua Award for Best Film in other language in Assam Jwlwi-The Seed (Bodo) Rajni Basumatary
31 Jayanta Hazarika Award for Outstanding Contribution to Assamese Cinema
32 Award for Best Children Film
33 Master Siddhartha Award for Best Child Artiste Ashramika (Ratnakar)


For the 2018 Year:

Assam Film Awards

Assam Film Awards

For the 2019 Year:

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Bhupen Borah heads to Jorhat, to face police Inquiry amid Political turmoil

Police in Jorhat have summoned Assam Congress chairman Bhupen Borah to appear before them on January 31 in relation to a case involving the Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra, which is suspected of deviating from its approved route in the district.
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -