33 C
Friday, April 12, 2024

Assam Civilian Awards 2023: Assam’s highest civilian award ‘Asom Baibhav’ conferred to Dr Tapan Saikia

Must Read

Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 is a Vernacular based Assamese news portal based in Guwahati Assam. We are a dedicated news channel covering news and stories across the globe with special reference to Assam, north-east along with National and International news.

Assam Civilian Awards 2023:The Assam government has announced the recipients of the ‘Asom Baibhav, Asom Sourav, and Asom Gourav’ awards.

The Assam government has announced the recipients of the three “Asom Baibhav, Asom Sourav, and Asom Gourav” awards for the fiscal year 2022-2023.

On January 4, 2023, Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma announced the names.

Dr Tapan Saikia will receive the Assam government’s highest civilian award, Asom Baibhav, for the fiscal year 2022-2023.



Dr. Tapan K. Saikia is a patron of the Deesikha Foundation and has made significant contributions to cancer awareness and early detection in Assam and the Northeastern States. Since June 2004, he has served as the Head of Medical Oncology and Research Director at Prince Aly Khan Hospital, and he is currently the Director of Onco Sciences at Jaslok Hospital & Research Centre in Mumbai.

Also Read: Kaziranga: Rs 34.1 million Revenue collected till December from tourists

He is currently the Director of Oncology Sciences at Jaslok Hospital & Research Centre in Mumbai. He is a member of several professional societies and non-governmental organisations, and he regularly attends cancer camps in Assam. He also worked as an MD and an external examiner at AIIMS in Delhi and Allahabad University.

The Asom Baibav award is worth Rs 5 lakhs in cash. Furthermore, the recipient is entitled to free medical care for the rest of his life.

The Asom Sourav award, on the other hand, carries a reward of Rs 4 lakhs and recipients are entitled to medical treatment at government expense up to Rs 3 lakhs per year.

Assam Civilian Awards 2023 Complete List:

This year’s Asom Sourav award recipients are Krishna Roy, Gilbert Sangma, Dr Binoy Kumar Saikia, and Dr Sashidhar Phukan.

The Asom Gourav award includes a cash prize of Rs 3 lakhs, as well as medical treatment worth up to Rs 3 lakhs per year.

A total of 13 personalities have been selected for the Asom Gourav award this year- Debajit Barman, Rustom Basumatary, Manje La, Binanda Hatibaruah, Atul Ch Baruah, Shila Gowala, Dr Jogesh Deuri, Dr Pankaj Lal Gogoi, Sarbeswar Basumatary Manthang Hmar, Dayal Goswami, Dr Syed Ifthikar Ahmed and Dr Dhrubajyoti Sharma.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Bhupen Borah heads to Jorhat, to face police Inquiry amid Political turmoil

Police in Jorhat have summoned Assam Congress chairman Bhupen Borah to appear before them on January 31 in relation to a case involving the Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra, which is suspected of deviating from its approved route in the district.
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -