24 C
Friday, April 19, 2024

Women’s IPL: BCCI approves Women’s Indian Premier League

Must Read

Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 is a Vernacular based Assamese news portal based in Guwahati Assam. We are a dedicated news channel covering news and stories across the globe with special reference to Assam, north-east along with National and International news.

The Women’s Indian Premier League (Women’s IPL) was officially sanctioned by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Tuesday. The tournament was approved at the BCCI’s 91st Annual General Meeting in Mumbai. The 91st Annual General Meeting of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) made several key decisions, including the appointment of former India National Cricket Team bowling all-rounder Roger Binny as the 36th BCCI president following the departure of Sourav Ganguly.

Also Read: Diwali Gift For Farmers: Centre Hikes MSP For Rabi Crops,Wheat & Mustard

According to previous reports, the women’s IPL will have five teams and will begin in March 2023. The five teams can be chosen by zone — North (Dharamsala/Jammu), South (Kochi/Vizag), Central (Indore/Nagpur/Raipur), East (Ranchi/Cuttack), North East (Guwahati), and West (Pune/Rajkot), as in the men’s IPL — or by individual cities. That race is being led by Ahmedabad, Delhi, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Chennai, and Kolkata.


According to reports, teams will compete in a league format, with the top team automatically qualifying for the final, while the second and third-placed teams will compete in an eliminator for a spot in the summit clash.

“It has been tentatively decided to have five teams for WIPL in order to have a well-balanced mix of domestic and international players and to have competitive teams.” According to news agency PTI, the BCCI wrote to all state associations last week, “each team can have a maximum of eighteen players, with no team having more than six overseas players.”

Returning to the BCCI AGM, Roger Binny was elected as the new BCCI president, succeeding Sourav Ganguly. Jay Shah was reappointed as board secretary for a second term.

Rajeev Shukla was named vice president, Devajit Saikia was named joint secretary, and Ashish Shelar was named treasurer.

Arun Dhumal is the new chairman of the IPL governing council, Avishek Dalmiya is an IPL governing council member, and MKJ Majumdar is an apex council member.


- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Bhupen Borah heads to Jorhat, to face police Inquiry amid Political turmoil

Police in Jorhat have summoned Assam Congress chairman Bhupen Borah to appear before them on January 31 in relation to a case involving the Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra, which is suspected of deviating from its approved route in the district.
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -