29 C
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Gujarat Election Result 2022: PM Modi terms BJP’s win historic

Must Read

Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 is a Vernacular based Assamese news portal based in Guwahati Assam. We are a dedicated news channel covering news and stories across the globe with special reference to Assam, north-east along with National and International news.

Gujarat Election Result 2022: The Bharatiya Janata Party won 156 seats in the 182-member Gujarat Assembly elections, setting a new record. The Congress lost ground, with its vote total falling below 20, while the Aam Aadmi Party, a newcomer to Gujarat politics, won five seats. The elections were held in two phases across 33 districts in the BJP-ruled state on December 1 and 5.

Also Read: Himachal Pradesh election results : Congress wins 40 seats, BJP may settle at 27

Gujarat Congress chief Raghu Sharma resigned on Thursday, accepting moral responsibility for the party’s defeat in the state Assembly elections, according to party officials. Sharma had led the state’s so-called “silent campaign” against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and newcomer Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).


Among the 1,621 candidates, the fate of Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel, AAP’s chief ministerial candidate Isudan Gadhvi, and youth leaders Hardik Patel, Jignesh Mevani, and Alpesh Thakor was decided today. There were 70 political parties and 624 independents competing. In the 2017 Assembly elections, the BJP won 99 seats, the Congress 77, with two seats going to the BTP, one to the NCP, and three to independents.


After the Congress suffered a crushing defeat in Gujarat, its former president Rahul Gandhi said on Thursday that the party humbly accepts the people’s mandate and will continue to fight for their rights as well as the country’s ideals. After defeating the BJP in the Gujarat Assembly elections in 2017 by winning 77 seats, the Congress has hit rock bottom in the western state, where it is expected to win only 17 seats.


The Aam Aadmi Party has been designated a national party after winning two seats and garnering more than 12% of the vote in the recently concluded Gujarat Assembly elections. India currently has seven national parties, and Arvind Kejriwal’s AAP hopes to join the list before the 2024 general elections.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Bhupen Borah heads to Jorhat, to face police Inquiry amid Political turmoil

Police in Jorhat have summoned Assam Congress chairman Bhupen Borah to appear before them on January 31 in relation to a case involving the Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra, which is suspected of deviating from its approved route in the district.
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -