34 C
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Sangeet Natak Akademi announces 128 winners of Akademi Puraskar

Must Read

Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 is a Vernacular based Assamese news portal based in Guwahati Assam. We are a dedicated news channel covering news and stories across the globe with special reference to Assam, north-east along with National and International news.

On Friday, the Sangeet Natak Akademi announced the 128 recipients of the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award (Akademi Puraskar) for the years 2019, 2020, and 2021 in recognition of their noteworthy contributions to the performing arts, including music, dance, theatre, traditional/folk/tribal music/dance/theatre, puppetry, and scholarship.

Ten notable individuals in the performing arts were also named Akademi Fellows by the General Council of the Akademi. The Akademi fellows will each receive Rs. 3 lakh in addition to a tamrapatra and angavastram, while the Akademi Puruskar winners will receive Rs. 1 lakh in cash.

Saroja Vaidyanathan, a master of Bharatnatyam, Sadanam Krishnan Kutty, a Kathakali dancer from Kerala, Darshana Jhaveri, a clarinettist for Carnatic music named A.K.C. Natarajan, Malini Rajurkar, a singer of Hindustani classical music from the Gwalior gharana, Chhannulal Mishra, a two-time Grammy.

In addition to these, the Akademi has also revealed the names of 86 performers who have won the Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav (AKAM), which celebrates 75 years of Indian independence, under the Sangeet Natak Akademi Amrit Award. These musicians beyond the age of 75 who have never received a national honour are among them. One lakh rupees will be given to these artists as compensation.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Bhupen Borah heads to Jorhat, to face police Inquiry amid Political turmoil

Police in Jorhat have summoned Assam Congress chairman Bhupen Borah to appear before them on January 31 in relation to a case involving the Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra, which is suspected of deviating from its approved route in the district.
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -