34 C
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Mary Kom Elected Chairperson Of ‘Athletes Commission’ Of Indian Olympic Association

Must Read

Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 is a Vernacular based Assamese news portal based in Guwahati Assam. We are a dedicated news channel covering news and stories across the globe with special reference to Assam, north-east along with National and International news.

Olympic medalist Mary Kom has been unanimously elected chairperson of the Indian Olympic Association’s (IOA) Athletes Commission, while table tennis legend Achanta Sharath Kamal has been elected vice-chairperson of the body. Previously, on Monday, it was revealed that Mary Kom, PV Sindhu, and Commonwealth Games medalist Achanta Sharath Kamal were among the ten eminent athletes who will comprise the Indian Olympic Association’s new ‘Athletes Commission’ (IOA). According to an IOA press release, Returning Officer (RO) Umesh Sinha announced the list of ten commission members on Monday in New Delhi.

Also Read: Hera Pheri 3: Kartik Aaryan replaces Akshay Kumar in Comic Sequel Hera Pheri 3

“The list constitutes eminent athletes including, Olympic Bronze Medalist and Padma Vibhushan boxer Mary Kom, Double Olympic medalist and Padma Bhushan awardee badminton ace PV Sindhu, Olympic medalist and Padma Shri shooter Gagan Narang, Olympian and Commonwealth Games gold medalist, Padma Shri TT player Achanta Sharath Kamal, Olympian and CWG Gold medalist Padma Shri rower Bajrang Lal, Khel Ratna awardee and Olympic silver medalist weightlifter Mirabai Chanu, Khel Ratna awardee and Olympian Rani Rampal, Asian Cup Gold winner and Olympian Shiva Keshavan, Olympian and CWG Fencing championship gold medalist and Arjuna Awardee Bhavani Devi and Om Prakash Karhana made it to the Athletes’ Commission, uncontested,” said a press release from IOA.


Prior to the election, a total of 42 candidates were announced.

Following a dinner meeting, 32 candidates withdrew their candidacy, resulting in a unanimous decision.

Following an evaluation, it was discovered that the ten candidates on the final list of candidates met the requirements of the IOA charter’s categories and subcategories, specifically sections 2A and 2B, which state that 1) the candidate must have competed in at least one of the last three Olympic Games or 2) won a medal at the Commonwealth Games, Asian Games, or National Games. The ten candidates were declared uncontested winners and members of the IOA’s new Athletes’ Commission. The Returning Officer distributed certificates of election.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Bhupen Borah heads to Jorhat, to face police Inquiry amid Political turmoil

Police in Jorhat have summoned Assam Congress chairman Bhupen Borah to appear before them on January 31 in relation to a case involving the Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra, which is suspected of deviating from its approved route in the district.
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -