30 C
Sunday, April 14, 2024

Delhi Mayor Election: No Delhi Mayor For Now, AAP-BJP Clash Stalls Election

Must Read

Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 is a Vernacular based Assamese news portal based in Guwahati Assam. We are a dedicated news channel covering news and stories across the globe with special reference to Assam, north-east along with National and International news.

Delhi Mayor Election: Councillors from the Aam Aadmi Party and the Bharatiya Janata Party clashed inside the House on Friday during the Delhi mayoral elections, forcing the House to adjourn until further notice. The squabble over the order of oath-taking quickly erupted, with councillors from both parties accusing each other of physical confrontations.

A massive clash between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the BJP today stalled the Delhi Mayor election, with rival councillors brawling at the newly elected civic body’s first meeting and shouting slogans targeting Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Arvind Kejriwal. The meeting of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) was abruptly terminated, and the election was postponed until further notice.

During the meeting of Delhi’s second largest decision-making body, AAP and BJP workers were seen hitting and pushing each other, hurling tables and chairs, and even climbing on desks inside the MCD Civic Centre.

The developments occurred less than a month after the AAP ended the BJP’s 15-year reign in the civic body. The AAP won 134 wards in the MCD elections, while the BJP won 104 and the Congress won nine.

The AAP has also condemned Delhi Lieutenant Governor VK Saxena’s decision to appoint BJP councillor Satya Sharma as MCD’s presiding officer and 10 aldermen.

Also Read: Haldwani Protest: Supreme Court stays Haldwani eviction, urges rehabilitation

Today’s brawl is the latest in a series of clashes between the AAP and the Lieutenant Governor, who serves as the Centre’s representative in Delhi and reports to the Union Home Minister.

The AAP accused the Lieutenant Governor of attempting to assist the BJP, which lost the December municipal election after three terms in office.

Arvind Kejriwal, the AAP’s leader and Delhi Chief Minister, accused the Lieutenant Governor of deliberately selecting 10 BJP-aligned nominees in a letter posted on Twitter yesterday.

Shelly Oberoi was named as Arvind Kejriwal’s party’s candidate for Mayor. The BJP fielded Rekha Gupta at the last minute after previously stating that it would not run for the position. Ashu Thakur is the AAP’s back-up candidate.

The MCD House is made up of 250 elected councillors. The BJP’s seven Lok Sabha MPs from Delhi, as well as the AAP’s three Rajya Sabha members and 14 MLAs nominated by the Delhi Speaker, will run for Mayor.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Bhupen Borah heads to Jorhat, to face police Inquiry amid Political turmoil

Police in Jorhat have summoned Assam Congress chairman Bhupen Borah to appear before them on January 31 in relation to a case involving the Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra, which is suspected of deviating from its approved route in the district.
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -