28 C
Thursday, February 29, 2024

Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar: 6 From Assam Honored with The Prestigious Award

Must Read

Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 is a Vernacular based Assamese news portal based in Guwahati Assam. We are a dedicated news channel covering news and stories across the globe with special reference to Assam, north-east along with National and International news.

Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar: Six artists from Assan have been named for the Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar, which was established in 2006 for artists under the age of 40.

Prabhat Kakoti has been named Sattriya dance form winner for 2019, and Manas Kumar Chamuah (Hindustani instrumental – violin), Himangshu Sharma (theatre direction), and Jollymoni Saikia have been named Sattriya dance form winners for 2020. (Sattriya).

Dipjyoti Das and Dipankar Arandhara received the award for ‘contemporary Sattriya’ in 2021.

Also Read: Assam: Dr. Prashanna Gogoi Conferred Sangeet Natak Akademi Award for Folk Music

The Sangeet Natak Akademi is honouring artists from various fields of performing arts in the state, ranging from veteran exponents of Assam’s traditional dance and drama forms to younger performers of the genres.

Sixteen artists from this northeastern state were named to the various categories of awards announced on Friday by the country’s top performing arts body.

Ranjumoi Saikia, actor Pranjal Saikia, and theatre director Abinash Sarma have been nominated for the 2019 Sangeet Natak Akademi Award.


Gunindra Nath Ojha has been recognised in the same category for his contribution to ‘Ankiya Bhaona,’ a traditional state play, for 2021.

Prashanna Gogoi, known for his mastery of Bihu songs and history, has also received the Award for 2021 in the category of ‘folk music and dance.’

The Akademi Awards, which have been given out since 1952, come with a cash prize of Rs one lakh as well as a ‘Tamrapatra’ and ‘Angavastram’.

The President will bestow it during a special investiture ceremony.

On Friday, the Sangeet Natak Akademi announced the 128 recipients of the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award (Akademi Puraskar) for the years 2019, 2020, and 2021 in recognition of their noteworthy contributions to the performing arts, including music, dance, theatre, traditional/folk/tribal music/dance/theatre, puppetry, and scholarship.


Saroja Vaidyanathan, a master of Bharatnatyam, Sadanam Krishnan Kutty, a Kathakali dancer from Kerala, Darshana Jhaveri, a clarinettist for Carnatic music named A.K.C. Natarajan, Malini Rajurkar, a singer of Hindustani classical music from the Gwalior gharana, Chhannulal Mishra, a two-time Grammy.

In addition to these, the Akademi has also revealed the names of 86 performers who have won the Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav (AKAM), which celebrates 75 years of Indian independence, under the Sangeet Natak Akademi Amrit Award. These musicians beyond the age of 75 who have never received a national honour are among them. One lakh rupees will be given to these artists as compensation.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Bhupen Borah heads to Jorhat, to face police Inquiry amid Political turmoil

Police in Jorhat have summoned Assam Congress chairman Bhupen Borah to appear before them on January 31 in relation to a case involving the Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra, which is suspected of deviating from its approved route in the district.
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -