23 C
Saturday, April 20, 2024

Assam Sahitya Sabha Election: Surjya Kanta Hazarika Elected as Sahitya Sabha President

Must Read

Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 is a Vernacular based Assamese news portal based in Guwahati Assam. We are a dedicated news channel covering news and stories across the globe with special reference to Assam, north-east along with National and International news.

Assam Sahitya Sabha Election: Surjya Kanta Hazarika Elected as Sahitya Sabha President. Surjya Kanta Hazarika (সূৰ্য কান্ত হাজৰিকা) is an Assamese writer, lyricist, poet, filmmaker, and educator. In 2008, Hazarika was awarded the Padma Shri Award for his contributions to literature and education.

In 2020, Kuladhar Saikia, a Sahitya Akademi Award-winning writer and former Assam Director General of Police, was elected president of Assam’s premier literary organisation, Asom Sahitya Sabha.

The Asom Sahitya Sabha vote count has been finished. Surya Kanta Hazarika has been elected as the Assam Sahitya Sabha’s next president. Hazarika received 186 votes.

Yeshe Dorjee Thongsi, his closest competitor, received 141 votes. Girish Sandike has been appointed as Vice President. He received 194 votes.

Dhiren Sharma, his closest competitor, received 90 votes. Upendrajit Sharma has been named editor-in-chief. He received 163 votes.

Debjit Bora, his opponent, received 75 votes. On Saturday, the ballots for the Sahitya Sabha’s president, vice-president, and general secretary were counted in Nalbari.



- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Bhupen Borah heads to Jorhat, to face police Inquiry amid Political turmoil

Police in Jorhat have summoned Assam Congress chairman Bhupen Borah to appear before them on January 31 in relation to a case involving the Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra, which is suspected of deviating from its approved route in the district.
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -