25 C
Saturday, March 2, 2024

Assam, Arunachal Pradesh sign agreement on border dispute

Must Read

Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 is a Vernacular based Assamese news portal based in Guwahati Assam. We are a dedicated news channel covering news and stories across the globe with special reference to Assam, north-east along with National and International news.

Assam Arunachal Pradesh Border Dispute: The Assam and Arunachal Pradesh governments signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on Thursday in the presence of Union Home Minister Amit Shah to resolve their decades-old border conflict.


Assam and Arunachal Pradesh share an 804-kilometer border dispute that dates back to the colonial era.


Assam and Arunachal Pradesh share an 804-kilometer border.

Though there was no controversy at first, allegations of inhabitants of one state encroaching on land in the other have led to tensions and violence throughout the years. Since 1989, a case on the subject has been pending at the Supreme Court.

The decision was made recently during a Cabinet meeting in Guwahati presided over by Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma. The ideas presented by both states’ 12 regional committees to solve the issue were adopted by the Assam Cabinet on Wednesday, according to Assam tourism minister Jayanta Malla Baruah.

Disputes and violence have erupted as a result of allegations of people of one state encroaching on land in the other.

What is the decades-old border dispute between Assam and Arunachal Pradesh?
The border dispute between Assam and Arunachal Pradesh stretches back to colonial times. The British issued the “inner line” order in 1873, which delineated an imaginary boundary between plains and frontier hills, which was eventually designated as the Northeast Frontier Tracts in 1915.
The area of the frontier hills comprises modern-day Arunachal Pradesh, which was previously part of Assam. Following independence, the Assam government took control of the North East Frontier Tracts, which became the North East Frontier Agency (NEFA) in 1954. Arunachal Pradesh was constituted as a Union Territory (UT) in 1972 and became a state in 1987.
According to the assessment, approximately 3,648 square kilometers of the “plain” area of Balipara and Sadiya foothills should be relocated from the NEFA (now Arunachal Pradesh) to the Assam districts of Lakhimpur and Darrang.
However, Arunachal Pradesh has long maintained that the transfer was made without the consent of its people and that the state retained customary rights to these areas. In contrast, Assam considered that the 1951 notification was constitutional and legitimate.
The disagreement arose when Arunachal Pradesh became a UT in 1972, and various attempts were made to demarcate the line till 1974.

Following the pressure of both Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Shah, both states agreed to settle their border dispute through talks in 2021, according to sources acquainted with the subject.

Both states signed the Namsai Declaration in July last year, agreeing to reduce the number of disputed villages from 123 to 86 and resolve the boundary dispute by forming 12 committees, each headed by a cabinet minister, that visit disputed areas, gather feedback from residents, and submit reports to their respective governments, they added.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Bhupen Borah heads to Jorhat, to face police Inquiry amid Political turmoil

Police in Jorhat have summoned Assam Congress chairman Bhupen Borah to appear before them on January 31 in relation to a case involving the Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra, which is suspected of deviating from its approved route in the district.
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -