18 C
Saturday, February 24, 2024

Assam: AFSPA now applicable in only 8 districts, check districts

Must Read

Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 Bureau
Batori24 is a Vernacular based Assamese news portal based in Guwahati Assam. We are a dedicated news channel covering news and stories across the globe with special reference to Assam, north-east along with National and International news.

Assam: The government of India, according to Union Home Minister Amit Shah, has decided to reduce the jurisdiction of “disturbed regions” proclaimed under the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 (AFSPA) in Assam.

With this, the Government of Assam, in the exercise of the powers conferred by Section 3 of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 (Act 28 of 1958), declared the areas covering 8 (Eight) districts and 1 (One) Subdivision namely- Tinsukia, Dibrugarh, Charaideo, Sivasagar, Jorhat, Golaghat, Karbi Anglong, Dima Hasao, Lakhipur Sub Division of Cachar.

Also read: Assam delimitation: No changes to constituency boundaries, Denies Congress allegations

A recent analysis of the law and order and security picture in Assam shows that the above-mentioned areas, with the exception of the Lakhipur Sub Division of Cachar district, must be designated as “Disturbed Areas” for a period of 6 (six) months beginning April 1, 2023.

“Therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred by Section 3 of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958, and in supersession of earlier Notification No. 19015/9/2019-Political (A)/Pt.(1)/20, dated 15/10/2022, the Governor of Assam is pleased to declare the areas covering 8 (eight) districts viz. (1) Tinsukia (2) Dibrugarh (3) Charaideo (4) Sivasagar (5).


The Disturbed Areas Notification has been in effect in Assam since 1990. As a result of the Modi government’s unwavering efforts, the disturbed areas under AFSPA were removed from the entire state of Assam except for 9 districts and one sub-division of one district between 01.04.2022 and 01.04.2023, and it has been reduced to only 8 districts while reducing further in disturbed areas.

According to the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC), Rajiv Kumar, the 126 assembly and 14 parliamentary seats in Assam will remain unchanged following the Assam delimitation process.

“In the last two days, we met with political parties and other organizations to discuss the ongoing delimitation exercise. We also met with approximately 60 civil groups and organizations. We will do our best during the delimitation exercise to consider all of the suggestions made by political parties and organizations “CEC stated.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Bhupen Borah heads to Jorhat, to face police Inquiry amid Political turmoil

Police in Jorhat have summoned Assam Congress chairman Bhupen Borah to appear before them on January 31 in relation to a case involving the Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra, which is suspected of deviating from its approved route in the district.
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -